Volunteer Achievement Awards

The Youth Work Ireland Volunteer Achievement Awards were introduced in 1999 to recognise the contribution made to the Federation by volunteers. During the past decade or more this programme has gone from strength to strength. The annual awards event is now firmly established as one of the highlights of Youth Work Ireland calendar of activities.

The VAAs will take place on Saturday 11th November in National Office, closing date for receipt of nominations is Friday 21st September, 2017. Please find below all the relevant documents for nomination and promotion.

VAA Background Document>>

VAA Local Nomincation Poster>>

VAA Nomination Form Guidelines>>

VAA Nomincation Form>>

Volunteer Award Recipients 2016

The Volunteer Achievement Awards 2017 took place on Saturday November 5th. This year the National Selection Committee received 30 nominations from 9 Member Youth Services. At local and national level volunteers have helped shape youth work policy and practice. Supported by teams of locally based staff they are among the key deliverers of services to young people. Much of this work is done out of the spotlight and quite often receives little recognition.

The people honoured at the VAAs  are a group of committed and dedicated individuals who give their time freely to benefit their community and young people. Through their enthusiasm and dedication they inspire young people and support them to realise their potential.

This year we were delighted to welcome Indepedent Senator Lynn Ruane, who presented the awards to each VAA recipient.

Shane Kirwan, Ossory Youth - Leading the Way Recipient

Geraldine Marrinan, CDYS Youth Work Ireland - Stepping Up Award

Patricia Dagg, FDYS Youth Work Ireland - Making A Difference Award

Marian Fitzpatrick, Youth Work Ireland Midlands - Behind the Scenes Award

Nicky Brennan, Clare Youth Service - The Extra Mile Award

Gretta Quigley, FDYS Youth Work Ireland - Youth Work Ireland's President's Award

Jackie Flannery, Youth Work Ireland Midlands - The Siobhan Cotter Award